Home » Holidays Canada » Canada Day

Canada Day

Canada Day is a celebration of the date that Canada became independent on July 1, 1867.

Upcoming Dates & Where They Are Celebrated

Although the birth of Canada is July 1, if that date falls on a Sunday, the statutory holiday will be offered on July 2nd, the following Monday. Here are the upcoming Canada Day celebrations:

  • Saturday, July 1, 2017
  • Sunday, July 1, 2018
  • Monday, July 1, 2019
  • Wednesday, July 1, 2020
  • Thursday, July 1, 2021
  • Friday, July 1, 2022
  • Saturday, July 1, 2023
  • Monday, July 1, 2024
  • Tuesday, July 1, 2025

Where Is Canada Day Considered A Holiday?

Canada Day is considered a holiday all across Canada, celebrating the day our nation was founded. The government buildings will all be closed and most public transportation will be unavailable. Many businesses and stores will also remain closed. Although, some will open for the convenience of supplying customers. All schools are closed for observation. When it comes to planning holiday festivities, it's important to keep traffic in mind. Many streets are closed down for festivals and celebrations.

Festivities & Events During Canada Day

Canada Day is a massive celebration all across Canada. It falls on the same day as Memorial Day in Newfoundland and Labrador as well. So there is often a moment of silence observed in the morning, before festivities continue. Each city organizes it's own celebrations. Sometimes, these are parades. Sometimes, festivals. It's common to have concerts featuring local bands and firework displays. Many choose to enjoy a barbecue or cook-out as well. This often occurs before families head to the display of fireworks. Of course, in many areas of Canada, firework displays can be set off at home. Many families will trade the chaos of a public area for the quiet comfort of home. But these Canada Day celebrations are a great way to feel a sense of community.

A Brief History Of Canada Day

Originally, Canada Day was known as Dominion Day. It marked the day Canada became its' own self-governing dominion. Although, it was still a part of Great Britain. It had four provinces, being Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Ontario and Quebec. In 1983, Dominion Day was renamed to Canada Day and has been celebrated as such ever since.